Metadata: 3D hydrostatigraphic model of the Spiritwood Buried Valley

Metadata NAP : more info

Identification

Abstract

A three dimensional (3D) digital geological model of the Spiritwood buried-valley aquifer complex in southwestern Manitoba is developed to support quantitative hydrogeological modelling. The model maps the bedrock surface and delineates the various hydrostratigraphic units in three-dimensions. Multiple episodes of glacial erosion and sedimentation superimposed on a broad pre-glacial bedrock valley have resulted in a complex configuration of buried channels and valleys. The bedrock surface shows major erosional features: i) the broad Spiritwood buried valley, ii) deep valleys incised into shale bedrock within the broad Spiritwood buried valley, iii) narrow, steep-sided valleys both within and outside the broad buried valley, and iv) the modern Souris and Pembina river valleys. This bedrock surface detail is only possible because of the spatial continuity of the geophysical data sets and could not have been practically obtained from borehole records alone. The geological model includes 13 hydrostratigraphic units including sandstone, unfractured and fractured shale bedrock, 3 coarse sediment aquifers, 4 till units and 3 thin, near-surface units. Coarse sediment aquifers include the deep buried-valley aquifer, deep sands and gravels both within and outside the broad buried valley and inter-till aquifers at variable depths throughout the model. The model indicates potential hydraulic connections from surface recharge to the deep buried-valley aquifer and for discharge from the deep buried-valley aquifer to streams.
Status:register completed
Title3D hydrostatigraphic model of the Spiritwood Buried Valley
Date2015-01-01 (register publication)
Date2015-01-01 (register creation)
Edition
Edition date
Citation group
register pointOfContact
Name
OrganisationGovernment of Canada; Natural Resources Canada; Geological Survey of Canada
Position
Information
AddressDelivery point :
City :
Administrative region :
Postal code :
Country :
Email nrcan.gsc-geosciencedata-donneesgeoscience-cgc.rncan@canada.ca
Telephone
Online Resource
Citation group
register principalInvestigator
NameCharles Logan
OrganisationGovernment of Canada; Natural Resources Canada; Geological Survey of Canada - GSC Central Canada
PositionGIS Specialist
Information
AddressDelivery point : 601 Booth Street 601 Booth Street
City : Ottawa Ottawa
Administrative region : Ontario Ontario
Postal code :
Country : Canada Canada
Email charles.logan@canada.ca
Telephonetelephone voice; 1 (613) 9477068
Online Resource
Citation group
register originator
NameCharles Logan
OrganisationGovernment of Canada; Natural Resources Canada; Geological Survey of Canada - GSC Central Canada
PositionGIS Specialist
Information
AddressDelivery point : 601 Booth Street 601 Booth Street
City : Ottawa Ottawa
Administrative region : Ontario Ontario
Postal code :
Country : Canada Canada
Email charles.logan@canada.ca
Telephonetelephone voice; 1 (613) 9477068
Online Resource
Citation group
register custodian
NameFrancois Letourneau
OrganisationGovernment of Canada; Natural Resources Canada; Geological Survey of Canada - GSC Quebec
Position
Information
AddressDelivery point : 490, rue de la Couronne, 3e étage 490, rue de la Couronne, 3e étage
City : Québec Québec
Administrative region : Québec Québec
Postal code :
Country : Canada Canada
Email francois.letourneau@canada.ca
Telephonetelephone voice; 1 (418) 6543826
Online Resource
Presentation formregister modelDigital
SeriesOpen File7866

Related publication

  • Logan, C.E., Hinton, M.J., Sharpe, D.R., Oldenborger, G.A., Russell, H.A.J., and Pugin, A.J.M., 2015. Spiritwood Buried Valley 3D Geological Modelling - Part of a Multidisciplinary Aquifer Characterization Workflow; Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 7866, 1 .zip file.

Goals

The primary aims of the model are to map the bedrock surface and to delineate the hydrostratigraphic architecture of sediments filling the Spiritwood buried valley, in particular the distribution of buried-valley and inter-till aquifers within the widespread regional till aquitards.

Keyword(s)

Thesaurus
TitleGovernment of Canada Core Subject Thesaurus
Date2004 (register creation)
Date2013-05-11 (register publication)
Edition
Edition date
Citation group
register custodian
Name
OrganisationGovernment of Canada; Library and Archives Canada
Position
Information
Typeregister
TermHydrogeology
Thesaurus
TitleNRCan - GSC - Hydrogeology - Thesaurus
Date2009-01-01 (register creation)
Edition
Edition date
Citation group
register pointOfContact
Name
OrganisationCommission Géologique du Canada - Geological Survey of Canada
Position
Information
Typeregister produit
Term3D Model
Thesaurus
TitleNRCan - GSC - Hydrogeology - Thesaurus
Date2009-01-01 (register creation)
Edition
Edition date
Citation group
register pointOfContact
Name
OrganisationCommission Géologique du Canada - Geological Survey of Canada
Position
Information
Typeregister thème
TermGroundwater
Thesaurus
TitleNRCan - GSC - Hydrogeology - Thesaurus
Date2009-01-01 (register creation)
Edition
Edition date
Citation group
register pointOfContact
Name
OrganisationCommission Géologique du Canada - Geological Survey of Canada
Position
Information
Typeregister thème
TermAquifer system
Thesaurus
TitleNRCan - GSC - Hydrogeology - Thesaurus
Date2009-01-01 (register creation)
Edition
Edition date
Citation group
register pointOfContact
Name
OrganisationCommission Géologique du Canada - Geological Survey of Canada
Position
Information
Typeregister endroit
TermSpiritwood Buried Valley
Thesaurus
TitleNRCan - GSC - Hydrogeology - Thesaurus
Date2009-01-01 (register creation)
Edition
Edition date
Citation group
register pointOfContact
Name
OrganisationCommission Géologique du Canada - Geological Survey of Canada
Position
Information
Typeregister thème
TermQuaternary
Spatial representationregister vector
Languageeng; CAN
Character encodingutf8
Thematic categorygeoscientificInformation
ExtentLocalisation
-100.101721000,48.805759000;-98.955107000,49.501807000
Supplemental information

Distribution

Specific information related to data distribution
Format
NameDXF
Versionnot applicable

Distributor

Contact
register pointOfContact
Name
OrganisationGovernment of Canada; Natural Resources Canada; Geological Survey of Canada
Position
Information
AddressDelivery point :
City :
Administrative region :
Postal code :
Country :
Email nrcan.gsc-geosciencedata-donneesgeoscience-cgc.rncan@canada.ca
Telephone
Online Resource

Distributor

Contact
register distributor
NameEric Boisvert
OrganisationGovernment of Canada; Natural Resources Canada; Geological Survey of Canada - GSC Quebec
Position
Information
AddressDelivery point : 490, rue de la Couronne, 3e étage 490, rue de la Couronne, 3e étage
City : Québec Québec
Administrative region : Québec Québec
Postal code :
Country : Canada Canada
Email eric.boisvert2@canada.ca
Telephonetelephone voice; 1 (418) 6543705
Online Resource

Transfer options


Quality


Quality description scope :register dataset

Lineage

Message Date lineage
Lineage is the description of the sources and steps used to create the current dataset.


Introduction
Process step Sources
Leapfrog® Hydro is designed to simplify the model-building process by providing a clear workflow from 3D model extents setup, data input, stratigraphy building, editing and rendering to conversion and export to hydrogeological flow modelling formats (e.g. FEFLOW, MODFLOW). The topographic DEM was imported and set as the model topography. Stratigraphic code contacts found in the boreholes dataset are scanned, tabulated and used by the software to semi-automatically build stratigraphic layers of the model. The bedrock channel points developed from HRSR profiles were used to augment the bedrock surface. A 3D volume model is created in Leapfrog® Hydro by developing a series of stratigraphic layers based on contacts within boreholes, layer surface points, lines and/or raster grids (Alcaraz et al., 2011). The type of layer selected determines how Leapfrog® Hydro solves ambiguous data geometries to produce an appropriate volume conforming to the geological features present. Leapfrog® Hydro first interpolates each stratigraphic layer surface independently using Radial Basis Functions (RBF) then rationalizes overlaps based on age relationships and type of layer. Because the numerous inter-till aquifer deposits are generally enclosed within the upper regional aquitard, the intrusive layer type was used to simplify the model-building process. With a preliminary model developed from borehole stratigraphic contacts and HRSR bedrock surface points, additional control on layer geometries was introduced through iterative polyline editing. Several iterations of model inspection and stratigraphic code assignment checking were undertaken throughout the modelling process. Coding revisions and/or surface edits were made for each iteration until model geometries and unit interrelationships conformed adequately to expert knowledge. Leapfrog® Hydro's workflow process automatically re-interpolates surfaces and rebuilds the model as a result of adding new data, editing existing borehole data or editing the model itself. This greatly simplified making iterative revisions to the model.
The model is based on borehole logs, surficial geological maps, a helicopter time-domain electromagnetic (HTEM) survey covering 1062 km2 as well as 63.5 line-km of high-resolution seismic reflection (HRSR) profiles. Digital elevation model (DEM) at 100 meters resolution was also used.
A model stratigraphy has been adopted that tries to capture the key hydrostratigraphic elements of the conceptual geologic model and deals with the limitations of the stratigraphic information content within the water well records and the pragmatic requirements of geological modelling software. Because the water well records cannot distinguish between different tills nor capture all the numerous unconformities caused by erosion of bedrock valleys and channels within the till, the model stratigraphy does not attempt to honor a detailed geological stratigraphy or chronostratigraphy. Rather, it tries to represent the continuity of hydrostratigraphic units, even if these include different geological units. From deepest to surface, the following 13 hydrostratigraphic units are modelled: 1) Shale bedrock (100): Below the jointed and fractured surface of the Pierre Formation, all members are grouped together as a lower permeability shale unit. 2) Fractured shale bedrock (100_A): The upper surface of the shale is usually jointed and more highly fractured as a result of weathering and unloading and therefore may be more permeable than the underlying intact shale. 3) Sandstone bedrock (101): Although the Boissevain Formation sandstone is likely the more permeable of the two, both the Turtle Mountain and Boissevain Formations are likely more permeable than the Pierre Formation and so are combined here and modelled as a single low yield aquifer (Betcher et al., 1995). The Boissevain Formation is equivalent to the Fox Hills Formation in North Dakota whereas the two members of the Turtle Mountain Formation are equivalent to the Hell Creek Formation and Fort Union Group (Bamburak, 1978; Randich and Kuzniar, 1984a; Grasby et al., 2014). 4) β valley aquitard (200): This low permeability unit, consisting of glacial till or glaciolacustrine clay, occurs at the base of the β valley primarily in North Dakota where it has been observed in borehole logs. 5) β valley aquifer (300): Based on the HTEM and HRSR results and the borehole logs, permeable sand and gravel appears to partially fill the eastern β valley whereas it may fill the western β valley and even have extended into the broader α valley in some areas. 6) Lower regional aquitard (401): Discontinuous basal till occurs both within and outside the α valley. Outside the β valley, it is on bedrock. Although till within or overlying the β valleys may be younger and belong to a different till unit, the lower regional aquitard is nonetheless modelled as a single, continuous unit across the β valleys where till is present in the borehole logs. 7) Lower regional aquifer (501): This permeable sand and gravel unit is based predominantly on depth rather than origin. It is typically encountered at depths greater than 30 m. Similar to the lower regional aquitard, the lower regional aquifer is also modelled as a single, continuous unit across the β valleys. 8) Upper regional aquitard (402): Although more than two regional tills may be present, this unit represents the main till aquitard that extends from the deep regional sand and gravel to near ground surface. 9) Inter-till aquifer (502): This unit represents the majority of permeable sediment above the deep regional sand and gravel unit. These are typically inter-till sands and gravels that are associated with γ valley channel or fan deposits. Many boreholes record more than one inter-till sand and gravel interval. This unit generally lies within the upper regional aquitard but extends up to surface in some areas and down to shallow bedrock in others. 10) Fractured upper regional till (402_A): Where the till of the upper regional aquitard extends to surface, it is usually oxidized and fractured. The enhanced permeability of this unit may be important for groundwater recharge and the development of localized shallow groundwater flow systems. 11) Upper glaciofluvial (700): A thin, permeable glaciofluvial sand and gravel unit either near or at the ground surface. This unit appears on surficial geological maps. 12) Upper glaciolacustrine (800): A thin, lower permeability glaciocustrine silt and clay unit either near or at the ground surface. This unit appears on surficial geological maps. 13) Recent (900): Various recent units including organic deposits in wetlands, alluvial sediments and colluvium predominantly in the Pembina Valley.
Wells. Surficial geological map.


Technical details and constraints

File identifier81740652-e09a-803d-7f67-d4d0be686b28
Languageeng; CAN
Character encodingregister utf8
Hierarchical classificationregister dataset
Date2017-03-24
Metadata standardNorth American Profile of ISO 19115:2003 - Geographic information - Metadata
VersionCAN/CGSB-171.100-2009
Constraints
Update frequencyregister asNeeded

Regionalisation

Metadata are available in those languages (You can use language menu item in the top menu bar to switch language):
Language code Pays Encodage
register Frenchregister Canadaregister utf8

Geographic Reference System

Reference System codeEPSG:26914
Registerhttp://www.epsg-registry.org/
Version6.14

Metadata Contact

register pointOfContact
Name
OrganisationGovernment of Canada; Natural Resources Canada; Geological Survey of Canada
Position
Information
AddressDelivery point :
City :
Administrative region :
Postal code :
Country :
Email nrcan.gsc-geosciencedata-donneesgeoscience-cgc.rncan@canada.ca
Telephone
Online Resource
register pointOfContact
NameFrancois Letourneau
OrganisationGovernment of Canada; Natural Resources Canada; Geological Survey of Canada - GSC Quebec
Position
Information
AddressDelivery point : 490, rue de la Couronne, 3e étage 490, rue de la Couronne, 3e étage
City : Québec Québec
Administrative region : Québec Québec
Postal code :
Country : Canada Canada
Email francois.letourneau@canada.ca
Telephonetelephone voice; 1 (418) 6543826
Online Resource

Metadonnées: Modèle hydrostratigraphique 3D de la Vallée Enfouie de Spiritwood

Métadonnées PNA : plus d'info

Identification

Résumé

Un modèle géologique 3D du complexe d'aquifères de la vallée enfouie de Spiritwood, dans le sud-ouest du Manitoba, est développé pour assister la modélisation hydrogéologique. Le modèle cartographie la surface du socle rocheux et défini les différentes unités hydrostratigraphiques en trois dimensions. Plusieurs épisodes d'érosion glaciaire et de sédimentation superposés sur une vaste vallée pré-glaciaire encaissée dans le socle ont généré une configuration complexe de chenaux et de vallées enfouis. La surface du socle montre des éléments d'érosion majeurs : i) la vaste vallée enfouie de Spiritwood, ii) des vallées profondes encaissées dans le socle de shale à l'intérieur de la vaste vallée enfouie de Spiritwood, iii) des vallées étroites et escarpées à l'intérieur et à l'extérieur de la vaste vallée, et iv) les vallées modernes des rivières Souris et Pembina. Le niveau de détails de la surface du socle est atteint grâce à la continuité spatiale des jeux de données géophysiques et n'auraient pas pu être atteint à l'aide des données de forage seulement. Le modèle géologique inclut 13 unités hydrostratigraphiques dont du grès, du socle de shale fracturé et non-fracturé, 3 aquifères à sédiments grossiers, 4 unités de tills et 3 unités minces peu profondes. Les aquifères à sédiments grossiers incluent l'aquifère profond de la vallée enfouie, les sables et graviers profonds à l'intérieur et à l'extérieur de la vaste vallée enfouie et les aquifères inter-tills qui se trouvent à des profondeurs variables dans le modèle. Le modèle indique des connections hydrauliques potentielles entre la recharge à la surface et l'aquifère profond de la vallée enfouie et pour la décharge entre l'aquifère profond de la vallée enfouie et les ruisseaux de surface.
Statut:registre complété
TitreModèle hydrostratigraphique 3D de la Vallée Enfouie de Spiritwood
Date2015-01-01 (registre publication)
Date2015-01-01 (registre création)
Édition
Date de l'édition
Groupe cité
registre contact
Nom
OrganisationGouvernement du Canada; Ressources naturelles Canada; Commission géologique du Canada
Position
Information
AdressePoint de livraison :
Ville :
Région administrative :
Code Postal :
Pays :
Courriel nrcan.gsc-geosciencedata-donneesgeoscience-cgc.rncan@canada.ca
Téléphone
Ressources en ligne
Groupe cité
registre chercheurPrincipal
NomCharles Logan
OrganisationGouvernement du Canada; Ressources naturelles Canada; Commission géologique du Canada - CGC Centre du Canada
PositionSpécialiste SIG
Information
AdressePoint de livraison : 601 Booth Street 601 Booth Street
Ville : Ottawa Ottawa
Région administrative : Ontario Ontario
Code Postal :
Pays : Canada Canada
Courriel charles.logan@canada.ca
Téléphonetelephone voix; 1 (613) 9477068
Ressources en ligne
Groupe cité
registre créateur
NomCharles Logan
OrganisationGouvernement du Canada; Ressources naturelles Canada; Commission géologique du Canada - CGC Centre du Canada
PositionSpécialiste SIG
Information
AdressePoint de livraison : 601 Booth Street 601 Booth Street
Ville : Ottawa Ottawa
Région administrative : Ontario Ontario
Code Postal :
Pays : Canada Canada
Courriel charles.logan@canada.ca
Téléphonetelephone voix; 1 (613) 9477068
Ressources en ligne
Groupe cité
registre conservateur
NomFrançois Létourneau
OrganisationGouvernement du Canada; Ressources naturelles Canada; Commission géologique du Canada - CGC Québec
Position
Information
AdressePoint de livraison : 490, rue de la Couronne, 3e étage 490, rue de la Couronne, 3e étage
Ville : Québec Québec
Région administrative : Québec Québec
Code Postal :
Pays : Canada Canada
Courriel francois.letourneau@canada.ca
Téléphonetelephone voix; 1 (418) 6543826
Ressources en ligne
Représentationregistre modèleNumérique
SérieOpen File7866

Publication associée

  • Logan, C.E., Hinton, M.J., Sharpe, D.R., Oldenborger, G.A., Russell, H.A.J., and Pugin, A.J.M., 2015. Spiritwood Buried Valley 3D Geological Modelling - Part of a Multidisciplinary Aquifer Characterization Workflow; Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 7866, 1 .zip file.

Buts

Les objectifs principaux de ce modèle sont de cartographier la surface du socle et de déterminer l'architecture hydrostratigraphique des sédiments remplissant la vallée enfouie de Spiritwood. Plus particulièrement, de déterminer la distribution des aquifères de la vallée enfouie et inter-till à l'intérieur des aquitards de till régionaux très répandus.

Mot(s) clé(s)

Thesaurus
TitreThésaurus des sujets de base du gouvernement du Canada
Date2004 (registre création)
Date2013-05-11 (registre publication)
Édition
Date de l'édition
Groupe cité
registre conservateur
Nom
OrganisationGouvernement du Canada; Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Position
Information
Typeregistre
TermesHydrogéologie
Thesaurus
TitreThésaurus RNCan - CGC - Hydrogéologie
Date2009-01-01 (registre création)
Édition
Date de l'édition
Groupe cité
registre contact
Nom
OrganisationCommission Géologique du Canada - Geological Survey of Canada
Position
Information
Typeregistre product
TermesModèle 3D
Thesaurus
TitreThésaurus RNCan - CGC - Hydrogéologie
Date2009-01-01 (registre création)
Édition
Date de l'édition
Groupe cité
registre contact
Nom
OrganisationCommission Géologique du Canada - Geological Survey of Canada
Position
Information
Typeregistre theme
TermesEau souterraine
Thesaurus
TitreThésaurus RNCan - CGC - Hydrogéologie
Date2009-01-01 (registre création)
Édition
Date de l'édition
Groupe cité
registre contact
Nom
OrganisationCommission Géologique du Canada - Geological Survey of Canada
Position
Information
Typeregistre theme
TermesSystème aquifère
Thesaurus
TitreThésaurus RNCan - CGC - Hydrogéologie
Date2009-01-01 (registre création)
Édition
Date de l'édition
Groupe cité
registre contact
Nom
OrganisationCommission Géologique du Canada - Geological Survey of Canada
Position
Information
Typeregistre place
TermesVallée enfouie de Spiritwood
Thesaurus
TitreThésaurus RNCan - CGC - Hydrogéologie
Date2009-01-01 (registre création)
Édition
Date de l'édition
Groupe cité
registre contact
Nom
OrganisationCommission Géologique du Canada - Geological Survey of Canada
Position
Information
Typeregistre theme
TermesQuaternaire
Représentation spatialeregistre vecteur
Langueeng; CAN
Jeu de charactèresutf8
Catégorie ThématiquegeoscientificInformation
EmpriseLocalisation
-100.101721000,48.805759000;-98.955107000,49.501807000
Informations supplémentaires

Distribution

Informations spécifiques au mode de distribution des données
Format
NomDXF
Versionnot applicable

Distributeur

Contact
registre contact
Nom
OrganisationGouvernement du Canada; Ressources naturelles Canada; Commission géologique du Canada
Position
Information
AdressePoint de livraison :
Ville :
Région administrative :
Code Postal :
Pays :
Courriel nrcan.gsc-geosciencedata-donneesgeoscience-cgc.rncan@canada.ca
Téléphone
Ressources en ligne

Distributeur

Contact
registre distributeur
NomÉric Boisvert
OrganisationGouvernement du Canada; Ressources naturelles Canada; Commission géologique du Canada - CGC Québec
Position
Information
AdressePoint de livraison : 490, rue de la Couronne, 3e étage 490, rue de la Couronne, 3e étage
Ville : Québec Québec
Région administrative : Québec Québec
Code Postal :
Pays : Canada Canada
Courriel eric.boisvert2@canada.ca
Téléphonetelephone voix; 1 (418) 6543705
Ressources en ligne

Option de Transfert


Qualité


Domaine de la description de la qualité:registre jeuDonnées

Lignage

Message Lignage des données
Le lignage des données est la description des sources de données qui ont été utilisées pour construire le présent jeu de données.


Introduction
Étape Sources
Leapfrog® Hydro est conçu pour simplifier le processus de construction des modèles en fournissant un « workflow » clair à partir de la définition de l'extension du modèle 3D, les données d'entrée, la construction de la stratigraphie et l'édition vers la conversion et l'exportation vers des modèles hydrogéologiques (ex. FEFLOW, MODFLOW). Le modèle numérique d'élévation a été importé et établi comme topographie du modèle. Les contacts associés aux codes stratigraphiques trouvés dans l'ensemble de données de forages sont scannés, mis sous forme de table et utilisés par le logiciel pour construire de façon semi-automatique les couches stratigraphiques du modèle. Les points associés aux chenaux du socle interprétés à partir des profils HRSR ont été utilisés pour améliorer la surface du socle. Un modèle volumétrique 3D est créé dans Leapfrog® Hydro en modélisant une série de couches stratigraphiques basées sur les contacts de forage, les surfaces, lignes et grilles associés aux différentes couches (Alcaraz et al., 2011). Le type de couche sélectionnée détermine comment Leapfrog® Hydro résout des géométries ambiguës pour produire un volume approprié conforme aux caractéristiques géologiques présentes. Leapfrog® Hydro interpole d'abord indépendamment chacune des couches stratigraphiques à l'aide des Radial Basis Functions (RBF) puis traite les chevauchements en fonction des relations d'âge et du type de couche. Comme les nombreux aquifères inter-till sont généralement inclus dans l'aquitard régional supérieur, le type de couche intrusive a été utilisé pour simplifier le processus de construction du modèle. Avec un modèle préliminaire développé à partir des contacts de forage et des points du socle HRSR, un contrôle supplémentaire sur les géométries a été introduit par l'édition itérative des polylignes. Plusieurs itérations de l'inspection du modèle et de la vérification des codes stratigraphique ont été effectuées tout au long du processus de modélisation. Des révisions des codes et/ou de l'édition de surface ont été effectuées pour chaque itération jusqu'à ce que les géométries et les relations entre unités soient conformes aux connaissances. Le processus de « workflow » de Leapfrog® Hydro ré-interpole automatiquement les surfaces et reconstruit le modèle à la suite de l'ajout de nouvelles données, de l'édition des données de forage existantes ou de l'édition du modèle lui-même. Cela simplifie grandement la révision itérative du modèle.
Le modèle est basé sur les données de forage, les cartes de géologie de surface, un levé électromagnétique (HTEM) héliporté couvrant 1062 km2 ainsi que 63.5 km linéaires de profils sismiques haute-résolution (HRSR). Un modèle numérique d'élévation avec une résolution aux 100 mètres a aussi été utilisé.
Une stratigraphie uniformisée a été adopté afin de représenter les éléments hydrostratigraphiques clés du modèle géologique conceptuel. Elle tient compte des limites de l'information stratigraphique présente dans les données de forage et les exigences pratiques du logiciel de modélisation géologique. Comme les données de forages ne font pas la distinction entre les différents tills ni n'enregistrent les nombreuses discordances causées par l'érosion des vallées et chenaux du socle à l'intérieur du till, la stratigraphie du modèle ne tente pas de respecter une stratigraphie géologie ou une chronostratigraphie détaillée. Elle tente plutôt de représenter la continuité des unités hydrostratigraphiques même si celles-ci incluent différentes unités géologiques. De la plus profonde à la surface, 13 unités hydrostratigraphiques ont été modélisées : 1) Socle de shale (100) : Sous la surface de la Formation Pierre, tous les membres sont regroupés dans une unité de shale de faible perméabilité. 2) Socle de shale fracturé (100_A) : La surface supérieure du shale est généralement plus fracturée à cause de de l'altération et pourrait conséquemment être plus perméable que le shale intact sous-jacent. 3) Socle de grès (101) : Les formations de Turtle Mountain et Boissevain sont probablement plus perméables que la Formation Pierre et sont donc combinées et modélisées comme un seul aquifère à faible rendement (Betcher et al., 1995). La Formation Boissevain est l'équivalent de la Formation de Fox Hills au Dakota du Nord alors que les deux membres de la Formation Turtle Mountain sont équivalents à la Formation Hell Creek et au Groupe Frot Union (Bamburak, 1978; Randich and Kuzniar, 1984a; Grasby et al., 2014). 4) Aquitard de la vallée β (200) : Cette unité de faible perméabilité est constituée d'argiles glaciolacustres et est présente à la base de la vallée β principalement au Dakota du Nord où elle a été observée en forage. 5) Aquifère de la vallée β (300) : Basée sur les résultats de HTEM, de HRSR et de forages, des sables et graviers perméables semblent remplir partiellement l'est de la vallée β. Ils pourraient aussi remplir l'ouest de la vallée β et même s'étendre dans les plus vastes vallées α dans certaines régions. 6) Aquitard régional inférieur (401) : Le till de base discontinue est présent à l'intérieur et à l'extérieur de la vallée α. À l'extérieur de la vallée β, le till repose directement sur le socle. Même si le till à l'intérieur et au-dessus des vallées β pourrait être plus jeune et appartenir à une unité de till différentes, l'aquitard régional inférieur est tout de même modélisé comme une seule unité continue à travers les vallées β où le till est présent en forage. 7) Aquifère régional inférieur (501) : Cette unité de sables et graviers perméables est principalement basée sur la profondeur plutôt que sur l'origine. Elle est typiquement rencontrée à des profondeurs supérieures à 30 mètres. Comme l'aquitard régional inférieur, l'aquifère régional inférieur est modélisé comme une seule unité continue à travers les vallées β. 8) Aquitard régional supérieur (402) : Même si plus de deux tills régionaux peuvent être présents, cette unité représente l'aquitard de till principal qui s'étend des sables et graviers profonds jusqu'à la proche surface. 9) Aquifère inter-till (502) : Cette unité représente la majorité des sédiments perméables au-dessus de l'unité régionale de sables et graviers profonds. Ces sédiments sont typiquement des sable et graviers des intervalles inter-till qui sont associés avec les dépôts de chenaux ou de cônes d'épandage des vallées γ. Plusieurs forages montrent plus d'un intervalle de sables et graviers inter-till. Cette unité est généralement contenue dans l'aquitard régional supérieur mais peut s'étendre jusqu'à la surface dans certaines régions et jusqu'au socle peu profond dans d'autres régions. 10) Till régional supérieur fracturé (402_A) : Aux endroits où le till de l'aquitard régional supérieur s'étend jusqu'à la surface, il est généralement oxydé et fracturé. La perméabilité accrue de cette unité pourrait être importante pour la recharge des eaux souterraines et le développement de systèmes localisés d'écoulement des eaux souterraines peu profond. 11) Fluvioglaciaire supérieur (700) : Une unité mince de sables et graviers fluvioglaciaires perméable près de ou à la surface. Cette unité apparaît sur les cartes de la géologie de surface. 12) Glaciolacustre supérieur (800) : Une unité mince de silt et argiles glaciolacustres moins perméables près de ou à la surface. Cette unité apparaît sur les cartes de la géologie de surface. 13) Récent (900) : Différentes unités récentes incluants les dépôts organiques dans les tourbières, les sédiments alluviaux et colluviaux prédominants dans la Vallée Pembina.
Forages. Carte géologique de surface.


Détails techniques et contraintes

Identifiant du fichier81740652-e09a-803d-7f67-d4d0be686b28
Languefra; CAN
Jeu de caractèresregistre utf8
Niveau hiérarchiqueregistre jeuDonnées
Date2017-03-24
Standard de métadonnéesProfil nord-américain de la norme ISO 19115:2003 - Information géographique - Métadonnées
VersionCAN/CGSB-171.100-2009
Contraintes
Fréquence des mises-à-jourregistre auBesoin

Régionalisation

Les métadonnées sont disponibles dans ces langues (vous pouvez utiliser le menu au haut de la page pour change la langue):
Code de langue Pays Encodage
registre Frenchregistre Canadaregistre utf8

Système de référence géographique

Code du Système de référenceEPSG:26914
Registrehttp://www.epsg-registry.org/
Version6.14

Contacts pour les métadonnées

registre contact
Nom
OrganisationGouvernement du Canada; Ressources naturelles Canada; Commission géologique du Canada
Position
Information
AdressePoint de livraison :
Ville :
Région administrative :
Code Postal :
Pays :
Courriel nrcan.gsc-geosciencedata-donneesgeoscience-cgc.rncan@canada.ca
Téléphone
Ressources en ligne
registre contact
NomFrançois Létourneau
OrganisationGouvernement du Canada; Ressources naturelles Canada; Commission géologique du Canada - CGC Québec
Position
Information
AdressePoint de livraison : 490, rue de la Couronne, 3e étage 490, rue de la Couronne, 3e étage
Ville : Québec Québec
Région administrative : Québec Québec
Code Postal :
Pays : Canada Canada
Courriel francois.letourneau@canada.ca
Téléphonetelephone voix; 1 (418) 6543826
Ressources en ligne